It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading is hosted by Book Journey.

16150831

1. In the After Light by Alexandra Bracken – This is the third book in The Darkest Minds Trilogy, and I’ve blown through this series so quickly that I didn’t even make time to review the first two books. It’s been awhile since I’ve started a series that I could not stop and had to read each book back-to-back because the story is so engrossing, so I would definitely recommend it! The basic premise of the series is that a generation of children succumbs to a curious disease where they either die or possess potentially dangerous powers. The children who survive are sent into government “rehabilitation” camps, where they are separated by colors that represent which power they have. Ruby possesses one of the most dangerous types of powers, which makes her both extremely valuable and vulnerable. I won’t say anymore to preserve some suspense, so if you like dystopias (even if you’re a bit sick of them), check this series out. So. Good. 

62291

2. A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin – What a long journey it has been to get through this series! I started this book maaaaany months ago, primarily listening to the audiobook. I’ve mentioned that I’m a fan of the show, which is definitely a factor in how long it has taken me to read the series; because I know most of the major things that happen through the end of the third book, I honestly haven’t been in a huge rush to finish it. I gave myself until the new season starts to finish all of the released books, so I’m starting to feel the pressure. Also, I convinced my fiancé to start the series, and he is now on book five and threatening to reveal spoilers if I don’t catch up!

P.S. Happy New Year!

One thought on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I have heard AMAZING things about the Darkest Minds trilogy, but I somehow never stopped to find out what the story was about until now. You make it sound so engrossing! I’m so, so tired of cut-and-dry dystopians, but I’m still open to controlling, futuristic societies if the premise is something I haven’t seen 100 times before. And Game of Thrones! I’m kind of intimidated by that series, but I feel like I should give it a try – I’m glad you’re enjoying it!

Leave a Reply

