Book Bites: Earl Grey Ice Cream

BB_edited-1

1

There’s something about reading Jane Austen that makes me want to curl up with a hot cup of tea, which is exactly what I did when I read Persuasion for the first time last month. Since the 18th century – which saw the birth of Jane Austen – tea has been an integral part of British society and culture. I used tea as my inspirational ingredient for this week’s Book Bites recipe, and came across this amazing recipe for Earl Grey ice cream. You could experiment with a different type of tea if you wanted, but I do have to say as someone who doesn’t typically prefer Earl Grey tea, this ice cream is really good. I also thought I’d take this opportunity to show off my gorgeous set of Jane Austen novels from Juniper Books, which were given to me as a gift by my fiancé. Enjoy!

tumblr_neqeyiYBVg1rnoro3o1_500

Earl Grey Ice Cream
Adapted from Country Cleaver

What You’ll Need:

  • 5 Earl Grey tea bags
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 2 cups heavy whipping cream
  • 5 egg yolks

Directions:

  1. Heat milk and cream in a saucepan over medium heat until simmering. Remove from heat and steep tea bags for 5-10 minutes. Stir the mixture and remove tea bags (I like to squeeze my tea bags out with the back of a spoon before removing to get a bolder flavor).
  2. Add eggs and sugar to a bowl and whisk together, slowly adding the cream mixture while stirring. Add the mixture back to the saucepan and stir over medium heat until thickened.
  3. Pour the mixture into a large bowl through a mesh strainer or cheesecloth. Cover and chill for at least two hours, or overnight.
  4. Freeze mixture in an ice cream maker according to instructions. Pour into a resealable container and place in the freezer until frozen through.
  5. Treat yourself to a few scoops, drizzle with honey, and curl up with a good book!

2

7 thoughts on “Book Bites: Earl Grey Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

